Administration Departments and Directors


Chief Executive Officer – Patti Banks  |  218-365-8765

Chief Financial Officer - Curtis Bach | 218-365-8760

Chief Operating Officer - John Schindele | 218-365-8770

Chief Nursing Officer – Colin Yahnke  |  218-365-8745

Chief Human Resources Officer – Rochelle Sjoberg  |  218-365-8709

Business Office – Christine McDougall, Team Leader  |  218-365-8720

Cardiac Rehab – Tommy Teigen, Team Leader |  218-365-8738

Diagnostic Imaging Services – Anna Koski, Team Leader  |  218-365-8040

Facilities Management – George Rajkovich, Team Leader |  218-365-8731

Health Information Management – Meghan Moravitz  |  218-365-8753

Human Resources Office - JoEllyn Murphy | 218-365-8704

Laboratory – Josh Koehler, Team Leader  |  218-365-8740

Marketing & Communications – Jodi Martin, Team Leader  |  218-365-8739

Materials Management – Anne Moravitz, Team Leader   |  218-365-8784

Nursing Services –  Team Leader  |  218-365-8718

Pharmacy - Ely Community – Naomi Sperry, Team Leader  |  218-365-8750

Pharmacy - Hospital – Beth Hartshorn, Team Leader  |  218-365-8770

Rehabilitation Services – Joe Keranen, Team Leader  |  Ely 218-365-8755  |  Babbitt 218-827-2255

Revenue Management/Patient Access - Brooke MacMillan, Team Leader |  218-365-8747

Revenue Integrity/Finance - Emily Roose, Team Leader | 218-365-8776

Social Worker – Linda O'Neill DeRemee |  218-365-8758

Specialty Clinic - Christie Strange | 218-365-8793

Surgery – Becky Johnson, Team Leader  |  218-365-8015   


2022 Board of Directors

Members of our Board of Directors serve a term of three years and are elected at the annual member meeting held the first Monday in December. The current Board of Directors members are:

Tim Riley – President

Tim holds a Masters in Business Administration (MBA) from Heriot-Watt University in Edinburgh, UK. He has held many positions in the banking and finance world throughout his career. He spent ten years with Wells Fargo as the Community Banking President and later Certified Financial Planner/Trust Officer until he retired in 2015. Currently, Tim works in a limited capacity with the City of Ely as the Planning and Zoning Administrator. Tim enjoys volunteering in various capacities with the Ely Rotary Club. 

Devon Luthens – Vice-President

Devon was born and raised in Ely and earned her Doctorate of Education through Winona State University. She also attended Lake Superior College and St. Scholastica in Duluth for her Bachelor of Nursing and  South University in Georgia to achieve her Master's in Nursing Education. She is an instructor for the Licensed Practical Nursing Program at Mesabi Range College. She is married to her husband, Brady, and has a daughter, Lucy. She is honored to serve the community through the EBCH Foundation.

Kelly Klun – Secretary

Kelly is the Managing Attorney at Klun Law Firm, who received her JD at Hamline School of Law and MBA through Carlson School of Management. Kelly believes that ensuring skilled care, in Ely, is key to our longevity as a community. She seeks to support staff and management derived initiatives that further local care, while ensuring that we maintain our long-term financial viability. 

Michael Pechek – Treasurer

Mike was proudly born and raised in Ely and had a 35-year career with Ely-Bloomenson Community Hospital. Starting as an "Orderly" and working his way up to the Radiology Department Manager, the position he retired from in 2017, Mike enjoyed his time working at EBCH. Mike enjoys spending time with his family, especially his granddaughter, and volunteering for various local organizations such as the American Cancer Society Relay for Life, Northwoods Partners, and raising money for the Wounded Warrior Project. 

Scott Kellerman – Director

Scott was the Chief Financial Officer for EBCH from 1984 to 2019. He has a Bachelor of Science, Business Administration - Finance from the University of MN, Minneapolis. Scott prides himself on helping bring the hospital from a weak financial position when he started to a solid financial position upon his retirement. In addition to his work at the hospital, Scott is currently a member and treasurer of the Ely Regional Complex Board. He has also served as a Director of the Ely Area Ambulance Service Board and dedicated over 20 years as a Director on the Ely Public School District #696 Board. 

Jo Langan – Director

Jo was born in Windom, MN, and raised on a farm near Storden, MN, in southwestern Minnesota. Earning a teaching degree in Biology and a Master's in Math, Jo taught post-secondary Math courses, Programming, and Earth Science for over thirty years in Fosston, Grand Marais, and at ISD 2142. Some of Jo's passions are spending time outdoors, volunteering, and traveling to see her family. Her extended family includes her son, daughter, stepson, two stepdaughters, and all their wonderful kids. Ensuring quality medical care for Ely and the surrounding service area led Jo to follow in her husband's footsteps as a Board member. Her husband, Don, also served on the EBCH Board of Directors and sadly passed away in 2016. 

Mary Ann Smith – Director

Mary Ann was proudly born and raised in Ely and had a 35-year career with Ely-Bloomenson Community Hospital. Starting as a Nurse's Aid and working her way up to the Nurse Manager of Home Health Care, the position she retired from in 2014, Mary Ann enjoyed working at EBCH and currently spends time with her son and his family. Mary Ann has served on many other local boards, including the Arrowhead Emergency Medical Services Association and the Range Women's Advocates Task Force. 

Todd Heiman - Director

Todd holds a B.S. in Computer Science from the University of Evansville in Indiana. Most recently, working as a Personal Care Assistant for a family member with Multiple Sclerosis, Todd saw firsthand the importance of healthcare in our community. Todd worked for Frandsen Bank and Trust as an Investment Advisor and Loan Officer. Describing himself as an analytical, energetic, and detail-oriented business consultant, Todd brings broad and deep experience to the Board in financial and business leadership. Todd enjoys investing, hiking, traveling, golf and yoga in his spare time. 

Barbara Soderberg - Director

Barb is a graduate of the University of Minnesota, Duluth, with a B.S. in Physical Education and Sociology. Now retired from her role as Public Service Team Leader with the Superior National Forest (USDA Forst Service), Barb was responsible for recreation, wilderness trails, land purchases and exchanges, special use, heritage resources, and public information programs. Utilizing many of the services offered at EBCH, Barb is aware of what an important asset the hospital is to the future of the communities that we serve. Barb is a proud grandma who enjoys gardening, hiking, reading, and playing golf in her spare time.